Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 795- How Does Trade Negotiations Affect the Market?

2019-02-11 04:25
Share
  • Share

11 February 2019 Issue 795

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: The US stock market rose in the early period of last week since the performance of many US companies was better than expected, including Alphabet, hardware company Seagate and Estee Lauder. However, the US stock market fell after Trump claiming that he would not meet with Xi Jinping before March 1 on last Thursday. For the entire week, the Dow increased by 0.17% to 25,106.33. The S&P 500 index increased by 0.05% to 2,707.88. The Nasdaq increased by 0.47% to 7,298.20.
  • Europe: The corporate performance in Europe was unsatisfied and the EU has lowered its forecast on the economic growth of euro zone. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index increased by 0.73%, the German DAX index decreased by 2.45%, and the French CAC40 index fell 1.15%. The STOXX 600 index decreased by 0.46% for the week to 358.07 points.
  • Asia: After Trump claiming that he will not meet with Xi Jinping before March 1 on last Thursday, the market worried about the progress of Sino-US trade negotiations again. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index decreased by 2.19 percent to 20,333.17. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index decreased by 0.88 percent to 154.88 points.

Bonds

  • US: After Trump claiming that he will not meet with Xi Jinping before March 1 on last Thursday, the market worried about the progress of Sino-US trade negotiations again. The price of US Treasury bonds generally rose, and funds flowed into the bond market. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield decreased by 5 basis points to 2.634%.
  • Europe: The Bank of England and the European Commission also issued a pessimistic report on the Eurozone’s economic prospect, investors switched their investment into the risk-averse bond market. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield decreased by 8 basis points to 0.086%.

Commodity

  • Oil: Investors worried that the demand on crude oil would decrease since the slowdown of globle economic growth and the uncertainty on the Sino-US trade war. Over the week, New York oil futures decreased by 4.60% to close at $52.72 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: The British pound and the euro fell since the great uncertainty on the Brexit issue. For the entire week, the Dollar Index increased by 1.107% to 96.637.
  • China: After Trump claiming that he would not meet with Xi Jinping before March 1 on last Thursday, the yuan fell. For the whole week, the yuan decreased by 0.153% against the US dollar at 6.745.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: Trump claimed that he would not meet with Xi Jinping before the trade negotiations deadline,March 1. He also reiterated that the trade agreements must include terms on structural changes.
  • U.S: The US government may be shuted down again on Friday. Negotiations on the border wall budget of Congress have broken down on Saturday, communication is stopped within Republican Party and Democratic Party.
  • U.S: Daly, San Francisco Fed President, claimed that the financial condition is continuing to be tightened, so the Fed should be “patient” with the future interest rate hikes. Besides, Bullard, St. Louis Fed President, also said that the Fed should not raise interest rates again.
  • U.S: Trump nominated senior Finance Minister Malpas as the President of the World Bank. Malpas said that the World Bank should invest more resources in poor countries, and the loans given to China should be reduced.
  • Euro-zone: The EU has lowered its forecast on the economic growth of Eurozone. Besides, the UK and Australian central banks have also lowered their forecast on economic growth after they maintained the benchmark interest rate unchanged.
  • Euro-zone: British Prime Minister Theresa May will ask the parliament to give her more time on renegotiateing the Brexit agreement in this week and she promised that the vote on Brexit will hold before February 27.
  • Euro-zone: The Italian Statistical Office announced that Italy’s industrial production fell by 0.8% in December last year, which is lower than the market’s expectation of 0.4% increase.
  • Japan: According to the Japanese Cabinet Office survey, Japan’s service industry index fell from 46.8 to 45.6 in January 2019, lower than the market’s expectation of 48.3.
  • Japan: Japan’s Ministry of Finance announced that Japan’s current account surplus has narrowed by 40% to 452.8 billion yen in December last year, while the market’s expectation was 469.3 billion yen.
  • South Korea: According to South Korea’s central bank (BOK) data, as of the end of January 2019, South Korea’s total foreign exchange reserves increased to $405.51 billion, an increase of $1.82 billion month-on-month.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Chinese Vice Premier Liu He will hold a economic and trade consultations with US Trade Representative Lighthizer and Finance Minister Nuchin in Beijing on Thursday and Friday.
• The Ministry of Culture and Tourism announced that the tourism revenue of the Spring Festival holiday this year was RMB 513.9 billion, increased by 8.2% year-on-year.

The impact of the outcome of trade negotiations on the market

For markets, the outcome of the trade talks will dominate the market in February.

This week, US trade negotiators visited China again and met with Liu He. As the 90-day negotiation period comes to an end, it is crucial to see if there will be any new progress in china-us trade relations. Different results will produce very different changes in the market.

China-US relations are not everything

Heading into the first month of 2019, China’s economic data weakened further. The forward-looking PMI has been below the boon-bear boundary for two consecutive months, indicating that China’s economic growth faces difficulties in the first half of this year. U.S. corporate results also reflect weak demand from China. Leading construction machinery and graphics chip makers both cut their 2019 outlooks due to weak Chinese demand. Both economies are already weighed down by trade tensions.

It is not just trade conflicts between China and the us that are weakening the economy. China’s deleveraging policies, Britain’s Brexit, and the U.S. government shutdown all affect the economic outlook. Even if China and the United States can reach an agreement, the negative impact of a trade war has already had an irreparable impact, especially in the supply chain and corporate investment sectors. However, the market still needs a Sino-us agreement to improve the investment climate.

Scenario analysis of trade agreements

The talks are focused on two areas: tariffs and intellectual property and technology subsidies. As a result, we expect three scenarios to emerge in March. The most pessimistic scenario is a collapse in trade talks and the us launching tariff protection. The compromise scenario is a short-term tariff agreement between China and the us that would delay negotiations on intellectual property and technology until the future. The most optimistic scenario is a long-term deal on tariffs and intellectual property.

In the most pessimistic scenario, risky assets would be sold off and money would flow into safe-haven assets. The yen will rise, long-term Treasury yields will fall and gold will rise. Instead, emerging market assets and the Australian dollar will fall, and global equity markets will record losses. The compromise scenario will continue the surge seen at the start of the year. Market indices with low valuations continue to benefit from positive investment sentiment. Investors need to keep an eye on Brexit risks at the end of march, with sterling and the euro set to be the next market catalysts. The most optimistic scenario would send markets back into hyperactivity mode and give global equities a chance to challenge last year’s highs again.

Politics first is a realistic choice

Back to the details of the negotiations, markets were overconfident about the outcome of a deal between the us and China. First, deals may be superficial and formal, and long-term investment will suffer the trauma of a trade war. Secondly, both Chinese and American leaders have a strong style, and their governing history lacks a record of giving up their core interests. It is unrealistic to expect China and America to give up future industrial leadership because of the short-term downturn.

指數投資之父貢獻良多

領航投資(Vanguard)創辦人、指數投資之父博格爾(John Bogle)上周離世,香港媒體報道不多,只有兩份財經報紙較大篇幅(半版)報道,實有愧香港所謂國際金融中心的美譽。博格爾是金融業的殿堂級人物、基金界巨人,今天普羅大眾都可以低成本投資基金,要多謝博格爾的堅持…..

炒科技股 要睇實呢個指標!

御峰理財研究部在東方產經「專家點評」專欄中表示,自2009年開始,標普500指數的企業已用了5萬億美元來回購股份,令流通的股份數目創20年新低…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第795期)- 贸易谈判结果对市场的影响

2019-02-11 04:25
分享
  • 分享

2019年2月11日 第795期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美國多間公司盈利均勝預期,包括Google母公司Alphabet、硬件公司Seagate及Estee Lauder等,帶動美國股市。但繼上週四特朗普表示不會與習近平在3月1日前會晤後,美股隨即下跌。全週計,道指升0.17%,報25,106.33點。標普500指數升0.05%,報點2,707.88。納指升0.47%,報7,298.20點。
  • 歐洲:企業業績不理想,加上歐盟下調歐元區經濟增長預測。全週計,英國富時100指數升0.73%,德國DAX指數跌2.45%,法國CAC40指數跌1.15%。STOXX 600指數全週跌0.46%,報358.07點。
  • 亞洲: 自上週四特朗普表示不會與習近平在3月1日前會晤後,市場再次擔心中美貿易談判進展。全週計,日經225指數跌2.19 %,報20,333.17點。MSCI 亞太區指數跌0.88 %,報154.88點。

債券

  • 美國:自上週四特朗普表示不會與習近平在3月1日前會晤後,市場再次擔心中美貿易戰進展,美國國債價格普遍上升,資金流入債市避險。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌5個基點,報2.634%。
  • 歐元區:英國央行和歐盟執委會同時發布悲觀的景氣報告,市場再次擔心歐洲經濟,資金流入債市避險。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌8個基點,報0.086%。

商品

  • 油價:因為全球經濟增長有放緩迹象,加上中美貿易前景不明朗,市場對全球原油需求放緩的擔憂重燃。全週計,紐約期油跌4.60%,收報每桶52.72美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:環球經濟跟美國仍有差距,加上英國脫歐計劃仍未有解決迹象,令英金鎊及歐元受壓。全週計,美匯指數升1.107%,報96.637。
  • 中國:上週四特朗普表示不會與習近平在3月1日前會晤,人民幣隨聲下跌。全週計,人民幣兌1美元跌0.153%,報6.745。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:特朗普表示他不會在3月1日的貿易談判最後期限之前與習近平會晤,並重申與中國的貿易協議必須包括結構性變革。
  • 美國:美國政府本周再度陷入停擺的風險陡增。國會圍繞邊境牆預算進行的談判已於周六晚間破裂,共和黨與民主黨目前暫時停止了溝通。
  • 美國:舊金山聯儲行長Daly表示,由於金融狀況持續收緊,對於未來加息保持耐心是有道理的;聖路易斯聯儲行長Bullard也表示聯儲會無需加息。
  • 美國:特朗普提名財政部高級官員馬爾帕斯出任世界銀行行長。馬爾帕斯稱,世界銀行應把更多資源投入較貧窮國家,給中國的貸款將下降。
  • 歐元區:歐盟下調了歐元區經濟成長前景,英國和澳大利亞央行也在維持基準利率不變後調低經濟增速預測。
  • 歐元區:英國首相特里莎·梅本周將要求議會給她更多時間重新談判脫歐協議,並承諾不晚於2月27日進行脫歐投票。
  • 歐元區:意大利統計局公布,意大利去年12月工業生產按月下降0.8%,市場原先預期回升0.4%。
  • 日本:日本內閣府調查顯示,日本2019年1月服務業現況指數由46.8降至45.6,市場原先預期回升至48.3。
  • 日本:日本財務省公布,日本去年12月經常賬盈餘環比收窄40%至4,528億日圓,但不及市場預期的盈餘收窄至4,693億日圓。
  • 南韓:南韓央行(BOK)數據顯示,截至2019年1月底,南韓外匯儲備總額連增第三個月至4,055.1億美元,按月續增18.2億美元。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國副總理劉鶴本周四和周五將在北京與美國貿易代表Lighthizer、財長努欽舉行新一輪經貿磋商。

• 國家文化和旅遊部公布,經中國旅遊研究院綜合測算,今年春節假期實現旅遊收入5,139億元人民幣,按年增8.2%。

貿易談判結果對市場的影響

對市場而言,貿易談判結果將主導2月份市場的行情。本週美國貿易談判代表再度訪華,與中國劉鶴進行會面。90日的談判期到達尾聲,中美貿易關係是否有新進展至為關鍵。不同的結果將對市場產生極具差異的變化。

中美關係並非一切

踏入2019年第一個月,中國經濟資料進一步走弱。前瞻指標PMI資料連續兩個月低於牛熊分界線,預示今年上半年中國經濟增長面臨困境。美國企業業績亦反映中國需求疲軟。工程機械龍頭和顯卡晶片製造商都因中國需求不佳下調2019年業績展望。兩大經濟體都已經被緊張的貿易關係所拖累。
經濟疲弱並非只因為中美貿易衝突。中國去杠杆政策、英國脫歐、美國政府關門都影響經濟前景。即使中美能夠達成協議,貿易戰所帶來的負面衝擊已經造成不可修復的影響,特別是供應鏈和企業投資領域。不過,市場仍然需要中美協定來改善投資氣氛。

貿易協定的情景分析

中美談判的焦點有兩個:一是關稅領域,另一個是智慧財產權和科技補貼。因此,我們預期3月份將出現以下三種情景。最悲觀的情景在於貿易談判破裂,美國啟動關稅保護。折中的情景是中美達成短期關稅協定,將智慧財產權和科技談判內容延遲至未來。最樂觀的情景是達成關稅和智慧財產權的長期協定。

在最悲觀的情景下,風險資產將會面臨拋售,而資金將流入避險資產。日圓將會升值,而長期國債收益率將會下跌,黃金亦會上升。相反,新興市場資產和澳元將會下跌,全球股票市場將會錄得跌幅。折中的情景將會延續年初以來的的升浪。低估值市場指數繼續受惠樂觀的投資情緒。投資者需要留意3月底英國脫歐風險,英鎊和歐元將成為市場下一個催化劑。最樂觀的情景會令市場重返亢奮模式,全球股市將會有機會再次挑戰去年高位。

政治優先是現實選擇

回到談判細節,市場對中美達成協議的結果過於自信。首先,協議或流於表面和形式,長期投資將會受助于貿易戰所做成的創傷。其次,中美領導都是強勢風格,其執政歷史都缺乏放棄核心利益的記錄。奢望中美因為經濟短期下滑而放棄未來產業領導地位並不現實。

指數投資之父貢獻良多

領航投資(Vanguard)創辦人、指數投資之父博格爾(John Bogle)上周離世,香港媒體報道不多,只有兩份財經報紙較大篇幅(半版)報道,實有愧香港所謂國際金融中心的美譽。博格爾是金融業的殿堂級人物、基金界巨人,今天普羅大眾都可以低成本投資基金,要多謝博格爾的堅持…..

炒科技股 要睇實呢個指標!

御峰理財研究部在東方產經「專家點評」專欄中表示,自2009年開始,標普500指數的企業已用了5萬億美元來回購股份,令流通的股份數目創20年新低…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。