Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 793- How to navigating U.S. government policy choice?

2019-01-31 01:42
Share
  • Share

28 January 2019 Issue 793

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: US President Trump and Congressional leaders have reached an interim agreement to end the US government shutdown crisis. However, the short-term spending bill can only bring Washington back to work for three weeks. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 0.12% to 24,737.20. The S&P 500 index fell by 0.22% to 2,664.76. The Nasdaq rose by 0.11% to 7,164.86.
  • Europe: The European Central Bank announced that it will keep interest rates unchanged, which is beneficial to the European stock markets. In addition, the Brexit still does not have a clear progress, resulting to a fall in UK stock market. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index fell by 2.28%, the German DAX index rose by 0.68%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 1.02%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 0.22% to 357.84 points.
  • Asia: The Sino-US trade negotiations are progressing well, which is beneficial to the Asian stock markets. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 0.52% to 20,773.56 points. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 0.98% to 154.86 points.

Bonds

  • US: The International Monetary Fund has cut its economic growth forecast. Capital flows into the bond market, resulting to US Treasury prices rose, and the yield fell. For the whole week, the US 10-year bond yield fell by 3 basis points to 2.746%.
  • Europe: European Central Bank President Draghi’s remarks about economic downside risks has pushed up European bond prices. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield fell by 7 basis points to 0.191%.

Commodity

  • Oil: Both the United Nations and the International Monetary Fund have lowered their economic growth forecasts this year. The market is worried that the economic slowdown will reduce the market demand towards crude oil. In addition, the US Energy Information Association (EIA) estimates that US shale oil output will increase by 60,000 barrels daily in February, which dragged down the oil price. Over the week, New York oil futures fell by 0.65 percent to close at $53.69 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: As the US monetary policy becomes to be more neutral, the US economy slowed down and the dollar turns weak. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell by 0.563% to 95.794.
  • China: Since the US dollar has weakened and Sino-US trade negotiations have progressed well. For the whole week, the yuan rose by 0.191% against the US dollar at 6.736.

 

Economic-related News

  • US: The US government shutdown crisis was temporarily ended , but the spending bill signed by Trump is only lasted until February 15. Trump threatened that the federal government would be closed again if the constructing wall fee is not being approved.
  • U.S: It is reported that Vice Minister of Commerce Wang Shouwen, Vice Minister of Finance Liao Wei and other Chinese delegations will arrive Washington on Monday to prepare for the Chinese high-level economic and trade consultations with Chinese Vice Premier Liu He this week.
  • U.S: JP Morgan has lowered the 2019 Q1 economic growth forecast on the US to 1.75% from 2% since the partial shutdown of the federal government.
  • U.S: The American Conference Board announced that the US Economic Leadership Index (LEI) dropped from 0.2% increase to 0.1% drop in December of last year, which is similar with the market expectations.
  • Euro-zone: James Slack, spokesperson for British Prime Minister Teresa May, said the government is still discussing options for the Irish backup program and needs to amend the agreement to avoid a non-agreement.
  • Euro-zone: The European Central Bank cut its overall inflation and core inflation expectations in the euro zone, which will reduce the long-term inflation rate in the euro zone by 0.1% to 1.8%. The euro zone’s annual inflation rate will fall to 1.5% this year. In addition, the euro zone’s GDP growth forecast for this year will fall to 1.5%, much lower than the 1.8% increase forecast three months ago.
  • Euro-zone: The EU has increased pressure on Venezuelan President Maduro, saying that if no elections are held within eight days, Juan Guaido will be recognized as the Venezuelan president.
  • Japan: According to the data from the Bank of Japan, the growth of Japan’s corporate service price index slowed down from 1.2% to 1.1% in December, lower than the market expectations.
  • Japan: The Japanese Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications announced that Tokyo’s consumer price index (CPI) rose by 0.4% year-on-year in January 2019, which was higher than the market expectations.
  • Singapore: The Singapore Economic Development Board announced that Singapore’s industrial production rose by 2.7% year-on-year in December, lower than the market’s expectation of 4% increase.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• The State Council of China appointed Yi Huiman as the chairman of the China Securities Regulatory Commission. The former chairman Liu Shiyu was transferred as the party secretary of the All-China Federation of Supply and Marketing Cooperatives.
• China confirmed its intention to initiate negotiations on trade-related e-commerce issues on the basis of the WTO.

How to navigating U.S. government policy choice?

While tax cut initiatives in 2018 provided a tailwind for U.S. markets, 2019 policies can add to uncertainty and risk. Market have been stabilized so far in January because investors seem to be realizing that recession in 2019 is unlikely. The S&P 500 index is up 5.4% in 2019 and more than 13.5% from the December low.

Economic fundamentals and Fed policy support the market. Nonfarm payrolls surged by 312,000 in December, and the unemployment rate rose 3.9% as more workers joined the labor force. Although wages jumped 3.2% from a year ago, different members of Fed still turn to dovish. Because of increased financial market volatility, rising short-term interest rate, and elevated trade and political uncertainty, the economic outlooks seem to be less optimistic.

Market remain vulnerable to uncertainty

Will this optimistic market environment last? It could, but I see U.S. policies as the biggest wild card that could unsettle market in the next few months. The policies can weigh heavily on consumer sentiment and spending, which are the keys to the health of U.S. economics this year.

Government shutdown is the latest key concern for the market. Donald Trump proposed an immigration deal at 19th Jan in a bid to end a partial government shutdown. This is the first real offer for an end to government shutdown. However, Democrats reject Trump border wall proposal. They insisted Trump needs to open government before any negotiations over border security or barrier funding. Although Trump signed the provisional spending bill last Friday, the longest government in the history of the United States officially ended. If Congress and Trump can not reach a further agreement in the next three weeks, the US government may shut down again in mid-February.

So far, the shutdown has been viewed by investors as political chaos and has not much impact on the markets. But the longer it goes on, the more it could hurt the economy and consumer confidence. We can see the Michigan consumer sentiment index fell a sharp 7.6 bps to 90.7 in January. Tax cut effect seems to fade away.

University of Michigan Consumer Sentiment Index

Data Source: iFund; Bloomberg

Trade deal bias to positive result

The outlook on trade negotiations looks more positive as the deadline approaches. Based on the Bloomberg quoting from people familiar with the matter, China proposes to increase the annual import U.S. goods by more than 1 trillion in six years, with a view to eliminating trade surplus with the U.S. by 2024.

However, China and U.S. have not been able to make progress on intellectual property issues so far, and this may be a key point in determining whether Trump can finally finalize the agreement with China. On the other hand, some damage has already been done. Supply chain disruptions and profit pressure on consumer electronic companies need some tome to improve.

We expect political uncertainty will remain elevated all year. So valuation of U.S. market can not recovering to the prior highs. We also emphasizing diversify allocation in 2019, especially emerging market, which benefit from China’s recovery and an improvement in trade relations.

指數投資之父貢獻良多

領航投資(Vanguard)創辦人、指數投資之父博格爾(John Bogle)上周離世,香港媒體報道不多,只有兩份財經報紙較大篇幅(半版)報道,實有愧香港所謂國際金融中心的美譽。博格爾是金融業的殿堂級人物、基金界巨人,今天普羅大眾都可以低成本投資基金,要多謝博格爾的堅持…..

月供股票非抗通脹良策

通脹猛於虎,放在銀行的儲蓄,其購買力只會日漸減少。為了抵禦通脹,投資理財成了大眾的必修課。現時一般市民接觸到的投資計劃,以月供個股或基金為主。然而兩者孰優孰劣?…..






Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第793期)- 如何駕馭美國政府的政策波动

2019-01-31 01:42
分享
  • 分享

2019年1月28日 第793期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美國總統特朗普與國會領袖已就結束停擺達成臨時協議,以短期撥款法案令華府恢復運作3星期。全週計,道指升0.12%,報24,737.20點。標普500指數跌0.22%,報點2,664.76。納指升0.11%,報7,164.86點。
  • 歐洲:歐洲央行宣布維持利率不變,利好歐洲股市。另外,英國股歐仍未有明確進展,英國股市下跌。全週計,英國富時100指數跌2.28%,德國DAX指數升0.68%,法國CAC40指數升1.02%。STOXX 600指數全週升0.22%,報357.84點。
  • 亞洲: 中美貿易談判進展良好, 利好亞洲股市。全週計,日經225指數升0.52%,報20,773.56點。MSCI 亞太區指數升0.98%,報154.86點。

債券

  • 美國: 國際貨幣基金組織下調經濟預測及市場憂慮全球經濟前景,資金流入債市避險,美國國債價格上升,孳息率下跌。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率跌3個基點,報2.746%。
  • 歐元區:歐央行總裁德拉吉有關經濟下行風險的言論推升歐洲債券價格。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率跌7個基點,報0.191%。

商品

  • 油價:聯合國及國際貨幣基金組織均下調今年的經濟增長預測, 市場擔心經濟放緩會減少原油的需求;加上美國能源資料協會(EIA)預計, 美國二月份頁巖油產出將每日增加6萬2000桶,拖累油價。全週計,紐約期油跌0.65 %,收報每桶53.69美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:由於美國貨幣政策轉趨溫和,美國經濟增長放慢,令美元開始轉弱。全週計,美匯指數跌0.563%,報 95.794。
  • 中國:美元轉弱,加上中美貿易談判進展良好。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升0.191%,報6.763。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國政府暫時擺脫停擺危機,但特朗普簽署的支出法案只持續到2月15日。特朗普威脅稱如果不能獲得建圍牆費,聯邦政府將再次關閉。
  • 美國:據悉商務部副部長王受文、財政部副部長廖岷及其他中國代表團將於周一抵達華盛頓,為中國副總理劉鶴本周訪美進行高級別經貿磋商做準備。
  • 美國:摩根大通下調對美國今年首季經濟增長預測,由原來的2%降至1.75%,主要因為美國政府已局部關門一個多月。
  • 美國:美國諮商會公布,美國去年12月諮商會經濟領先指標(LEI)由前值按月上升0.2%下跌至降0.1%,報111.7,但符合市場預期。
  • 歐元區:英國首相特雷莎·梅的發言人James Slack稱,政府仍在討論愛爾蘭後備方案的相關選項,需要修改協議以避免無協議脫歐。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行下調歐元區整體通脹及核心通脹預期,其中將歐元區長期通脹年率微降0.1%至1.8%,歐元區今年通脹年率降至1.5%。另外,將歐元區今年GDP增長預測下降至1.5%,遠低於三個月前預測的升1.8%。
  • 歐元區:歐盟加大對委內瑞拉總統馬杜羅的施壓,表示如果在八天內不進行選舉,將承認胡安·瓜伊多為委內瑞拉總統。
  • 日本:日本央行數據顯示,日本去年12月企業服務價格指數按年升幅由前值的升1.2%略放緩至升1.1%,低於市場預期。
  • 日本:日本總務省公布,東京2019年1月消費物價指數(CPI)按年升0.4%,,高於市場預期的升0.2%。
  • 新加坡:新加坡經濟發展局公布,新加坡去年12月工業生產按年僅升2.7%,不及市場預期的升4%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國國務院任命易會滿為證監會主席,原主席劉士余調任為中華全國供銷合作總社黨組副書記。

• 國確認有意在WTO基礎上啟動與貿易有關的電子商務議題談判。

如何駕馭美國政府的政策波动?

雖然2018年的減稅舉措為美國市場提供了順風的環境,但2019年美國政策仍會增加不確定性和風險。由於投資者似乎意識到2019年不太可能出現衰退,因此1月份市場已經穩定下來。標準普爾500指數在2019年上漲了5.4%,超過了12月低點的13.5%。

經濟基本面和美聯儲政策支持市場。 12月份非農就業人數增加312,000人,隨著更多工人加入勞動力市場,失業率輕微上升至3.9%。雖然平均薪金增長按年上漲了3.2%,但美聯儲的不同成員仍然轉向溫和。由於金融市場波動加劇,短期利率上升以及貿易和政治不確定性上升,經濟前景似乎不那麼樂觀。

不確定因素左右市場表現

這種樂觀的市場環境會持續下去嗎?它可以,但我認為美國的政策是最大的變數,可能在未來幾個月內擾亂市場。這些政策可能會嚴重影響消費者信心和消費,這是今年美國經濟健康的關鍵。

政府停擺是市場關注的最新因素。特朗普於1月19日提出移民協議,以結束部分政府關閉。這是結束政府關閉的第一個真正的提案。然而,民主黨拒絕特朗普邊境牆提案。他們堅持認為特朗普需要在任何有關邊境安全或障礙融資的談判之前開放政府。儘管上週五特朗普簽署了臨時支出法案,美國史上最長政府關門正式結束,但是如果國會與特朗普之間未來在三週內達成進一步協議,美國政府可能在2月中旬再次陷入停擺。

到目前為止,政府關門一直被投資者視為政治噪音,對市場影響不大。但它持續的時間越長,它就越能夠損害經濟和消費者的信心。我們可以看到1月密歇根消費者信心指數急劇下跌7.6個基點至90.7。減稅效應似乎逐漸消失。

密歇根消費信心指數

資料來源:iFund;彭博

中美談判或有好消息

隨著截止日期的臨近,貿易談判的前景看起來更為積極。根據彭博引用知情人士的話,中國建議在六年內將美國每年的進口商品增加1萬億以上,到2024年消除對美國的貿易順差。
然而,到目前為止,中國和美國在知識產權問題上未能取得進展,這可能是決定特朗普能否最終與中國達成協議的關鍵點。另一方面,貿易衝突已經造成了一些損害。消費電子公司出現供應鏈中斷和企業利潤亦面臨下調壓力。
我們預計全年政治不確定性將繼續升高。因此,美國市場的估值無法恢復到之前的高位。2019年的資產配置需要多元化,特別是新興市場,原因在於這個市場受惠中國的經濟企穩和貿易關係改善。

指數投資之父貢獻良多

領航投資(Vanguard)創辦人、指數投資之父博格爾(John Bogle)上周離世,香港媒體報道不多,只有兩份財經報紙較大篇幅(半版)報道,實有愧香港所謂國際金融中心的美譽。博格爾是金融業的殿堂級人物、基金界巨人,今天普羅大眾都可以低成本投資基金,要多謝博格爾的堅持…..

月供股票非抗通脹良策

通脹猛於虎,放在銀行的儲蓄,其購買力只會日漸減少。為了抵禦通脹,投資理財成了大眾的必修課。現時一般市民接觸到的投資計劃,以月供個股或基金為主。然而兩者孰優孰劣?…..






相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。