Noble Apex eNewsletter Issue 791- Stay investing in 2019

2019-01-14 04:56
Share
  • Share

14 January 2019 Issue 791

Global Market Commentary

Equity

  • US: China and US officials had a trade negotiations on the 7th and 8th January, the progress was good. Also, public expects that the Fed may cut interest rates. For the entire week, the Dow rose by 2.40% to 23,995.95. The S&P 500 index rose by 2.54% to 2,596.26. The Nasdaq rose by 3.45% to 6,971.48.
  • Europe: The Sino-US trade consultation have been extended for one day. The market expects that it had a progress on the Sino-US trade issue, which is beneficial to the stock markets. Also, the British Parliament is scheduled to vote against Prime Minister May’s Brexit agreement next week. Over the week, the UK’s FTSE 100 index rose by 1.18%, the German DAX index rose by 1.11%, and the French CAC40 index rose by 0.93%. The STOXX 600 index rose by 1.69% to 349.20 points.
  • Asia: The Sino-US trade consultation have been extended for one day. The market expects that it had a progress on the Sino-US trade issue, which is beneficial to the stock markets. Over the week, the Nikkei 225 index rose by 4.08 percent to 20,359.70. The MSCI Asia Pacific Index rose by 4.06% to 151.55 points.

Bonds

  • US: US employment growth data in December was stronger than expected, which made the market less worried about the economic prospect. For the whole week, the yield on the US 10-year government bond rose by 3 basis points to 2.701%.
  • Europe: US employment growth data in December was stronger than expected, and US Federal Reserve Chairman Powell said the Fed will remain patient and sensitive to market risks. For the whole week, the German 10-year bond yield rose by 3 basis points to 0.237%.

Commodity

  • Oil: Saudi Energy Minister Falih said that Saudi Arabia is reducing the daily oil production to a level below the one in the production agreement to 10.2 million barrels. Also, the Saudi Arabia’s monthly oil production has lowered from 8 million barrels in November last year to 7.2 million barrels. Over the week, New York oil futures rose 7.57 percent to close at $51.59 a barrel.

Currency

  • US dollar: Federal Reserve Chairman Jerome Powell’s monetary policy tends to be dovish, which has weakened the Dollar Index. For the whole week, the Dollar Index fell 0.529% to 95.670.
  • China: The public expects that the US Federal Reserve will stop the interest rate hike plan, and the Chinese and US officials had just met this week to conduct trade negotiations, which is beneficial to the value of Yuan . For the whole week, the Yuan rose by 1.857% against the US dollar to 6.741.

 

Economic-related News

  • The US government shutdown is now the longest such closure in history and there is no signs of mitigation. It is reported that Trump’s budget team is working on a contingency plan to prepare for the government’s suspension until the end of February.
  • U.S: The US core CPI (excludes food and energy) rose by 2.2% year-on-year for the second consecutive month in December, which is similar with the economists forecast.
  • U.S: Bloomberg survey economists show that the risk of US recession in the next 12 months hits the highest point of the past six years, and the probability of recession has risen to 25%, resulting from the increased risk in financial markets, trade wars with China, and federal government shutdowns.
  • U.S: The US Department of Labor announced that the consumer price index (CPI) fell by 0.1% month-on-month in December, and increased by 1.9% year-on-year, which is similar with the market expectations.
  • Euro-zone: European Central Bank Management Committee Nowotny said that when the European Central Bank decides to raise interest rates, it needs to be cautious because of the slowdown in economic growth.
  • Euro-zone: Statistics from the British Bureau of Statistics show that the UK’s manufacturing output fell by 0.3% in November last year, which has fallen by five consecutive months. It is lower than the market expectations of 0.4% increase; the annual decline rate was widened from 0.7% to 1.1%.
  • Euro-zone: The British Parliament’s vote will be held on Tuesday, British Prime Minister Theresa May will have a speech on Monday to warn that the Parliament is more likely to block Brexit than let the UK leave with no deal.
  • Japan: The Japanese Cabinet Office survey showed that Japan’s service industry index fell sharply from the previous value of 51 to 48 in December last year, lower than the market expectation of 50.7.
  • Japan: The Japanese Ministry of Finance announced that Japan’s current account surplus in November last year narrowed by more than 42% to 757.2 billion yen, which is still higher than the market expected surplus of 566.3 billion yen.
  • Singapore: The Singapore Bureau of Statistics announced that Singapore’s total retail sales in November last year fell by 3% year-on-year, which is higher than the market expectations of 2.4%.

 

China Market Commentary
Economic-related news
• Chinese Finance Minister Liu Kun said that China will increase tax cuts and fiscal expenditures in 2019.
• China will release the trade data for December today. The year-on-year growth of dollar-denominated exports is expected to slowdown to 2%, it may reflect the reduction in grab exports before the US may raise tariffs in March, and the challenges brought by the higher bases of the same period last year.

 

Stay investing in 2019

2018 was one of the rockiest years for equity investors since financial crisis. Major asset classes failed to beat U.S. inflation in the past year. Investors pulled money from stock and bond funds in 2018 and turned it to safe havens such as money market.

Major Asset Classes Performance in 2017 and 2018

iFund/Noble Apex, JP Morgan

2018 is a good year for cash

In the past, investors usually use bonds as a buffer when stocks turn bad. But last year stock and bond were all losers. The S&P 500 Index fell 4.39% for the year, and the bond index also lost 1.03%. However, the top money market funds provided return of more than 2%.

Investor feel anxiety because of the growing concerns in 2018, including uncertainty about interest rate increase, the U.S. trade dispute with China and slowing global growth.

Risk versus comfort

Holding some cash is wise amid so much uncertainty around the world. When interest rate increase, 3-month Libor rate increased to 2.81% at the end of 2018. It is the first time that cash became as a viable asset class for investors in the decade. Investors can get a return with minimum risk on cash equivalent assets.

If investors have a long investment horizon and enough risk profile, equity return should provide more premium to compensate equity risk. In the theory, equity is an instrument for hedging inflation risk. Based on some research papers, equity can average provide around 4% premium in the long term.

Find more ways for diversification

Investors have a powerful soothing effect when they increase their cash holdings during uncertain times. Even when the markets are not going through major disaster, people also feel comfortable. But cash will lose bargaining power in the long term.

If history has any indication, investors will recover faster if they stay the course in a diversified portfolio after the bad time. At the worst point in the bear market in 2009, most investors may increase cash holding. If they did not reinvest them to stock market, they would miss a over 350 percent by the end of 2018. Investors who had a traditional 60% in stocks and 40% in bonds recovered from financial Tsunami losses in about three years after the scariest point in the bear market.

 

看面相可預知投資能力?

一篇南開大學教授的論文,去年底在中國網路引起一番轟動。論文叫《行長的面部寬高比影響銀行績效的路徑研究》,網友調侃面相學這種次文化已經進入學術殿堂,認為這種研究很無聊、沒有學術價值…..

鱷王教路時刻防險可致富

全球最大對沖基金橋水(Bridgewater)現時管理1600億美元資產,去年其旗艦基金Pure Alpha在扣除費用後回報率達14.2%,優於同業平均的6.7%虧損…..





Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

御峰通讯(第791期)- 2019年需坚持投资

2019-01-14 04:56
分享
  • 分享

2019年1月14日 第791期

環球市場動態

股市

  • 美國:美官員放本月7日及8日進行貿易談判,進展良好,加上聯儲局或會減息。全週計,道指升2.40%,報23,995.95點。標普500指數升2.54%,報點2,596.26。納指升3.45%,報6,971.48點。
  • 歐洲:中美經貿磋商延長一天,市場憧憬美國與中國的貿易談判取得進展,加上英國國會如期在下星期表決首相文翠珊的脫歐協議。全週計,英國富時100指數升1.18%,德國DAX指數升1.11%,法國CAC40指數升0.93%。STOXX 600指數全週升1.69%,報349.20點。
  • 亞洲: 中美經貿磋商延長一天,市場憧憬美國與中國的貿易談判取得進展,利好亞洲股市。全週計,日經225指數升4.08 %,報20,359.70點。MSCI 亞太區指數升4.06%,報151.55點。

債券

  • 美國: 美國12月就業增長數據強於預期,令市場對經濟前景憂慮減低。全週計,美國10年期國債孳息率升3個基點,報2.701%。
  • 歐元區:美國12月就業增長數據強於預期,且美國聯儲會主席鮑威爾表示,聯儲會將保持耐心,對市場風險保持敏感。全週計,德國10年期國債孳息率升3個基點,報0.237%。

商品

  • 油價:沙特能源大臣法利赫日前表示,該國正將每日產油量減至低過減產協議的要求,而目前已降至1020萬桶,又指沙特本月的原油出口量,將由去年11月的800萬桶降至720萬桶以減少市場原油的供應。全週計,紐約期油升7.57 %,收報每桶51.59美元。

貨幣

  • 美元:聯儲局主席鮑威爾(Jerome Powell)就未來貨幣政策取態偏向「鴿派」,促使美匯指數轉弱。全週計,美匯指數跌0.529%,報 95.670。
  • 中國:因美國聯準會提前結束升息的預期升溫,加上美中官員在本週剛會面進行貿易談判。全週計,人民幣兌1美元升1.857%,報6.741。

與經濟相關新聞

  • 美國:美國政府停擺時間創紀錄最長,且無緩解跡象。據悉特朗普的預算團隊正在制定應急計畫,為政府停擺延續到2月底做準備。
  • 美國:美國12月份不含食品和能源的核心CPI連續第二個月同比上漲2.2%,符合經濟學家的預期中值。
  • 美國:彭博調查經濟學家顯示,未來12個月美國經濟衰退的風險處於六年多來的最高點,衰退概率升至25%,原因包括金融市場風險加劇、與中國的貿易戰以及聯邦政府停擺。
  • 美國:美國勞工部公布,去年12月消費物價指數(CPI)按月下跌0.1%,按年計上升1.9%,符合市場預期。
  • 歐元區:歐洲央行管委Nowotny表示,當歐洲央行最終開始加息時,需要謹慎行事,因經濟增長放緩。
  • 歐元區:英國統計局數據顯示,英國去年11月製造業產出按月意外下跌0.3%,連跌第五個月,為08年金融危機以來首見,市場原先預期回升0.4%;按年跌幅由0.7%擴至1.1%。
  • 歐元區:在英國議會本周二投票幾乎注定否決脫歐協議之際,英國首相特里莎·梅周一將向議會發出警告,如果脫歐協議遭到否決,扼殺脫歐的可能性要超過無協議脫歐。
  • 日本:本內閣府調查顯示,日本去年12月服務業現況指數由前值51急降至48,市場原先預期僅回落至50.7。
  • 日本:日本財務省公布,日本去年11月經常賬盈餘環比收窄逾42%至7,572億日圓,但仍高於市場預期盈餘5,663億日圓。
  • 新加坡:新加坡統計局公布,新加坡去年11月零售銷售總額按年轉降3%,結束連升兩個月,跌幅超出市場預期的2.4%。
中國市場動態
經濟相關新聞
• 中國財長劉昆表示,中國將在2019年將加大減稅降費和財政支出力度。

• 中國今天將公佈12月份貿易數據,美元計價出口同比增幅料放緩至2%,或反映在美國3月份可能提高關稅前的搶出口減少,以及上年同期較高基數帶來的挑戰。

2019年需堅持投資

自金融危機以來,2018年是股票投資最艱難的一年。主要資產過去一年的表現都未能跑贏美國通脹。投資者去年從股票和債券基金提取資金,轉向投資類似貨幣基金的安全資產。

主要大類資產2017年和2018年表現

資料來源:iFund/御峰理財,JP摩根

2018年現金表現不俗

過去,投資者使用債券去對沖股票市場波動。但是,過去一年股票和債券都是輸家。標普500指數2018年錄得4.39%跌幅,而JP摩根債券總回報指數亦錄得1.03%跌幅。不過,表現最佳的貨幣基金卻錄得超過2%的正回報。

投資者在2018年各種憂慮下變得緊張。這些憂慮包括加息路徑的不確定性,中美貿易衝突以及全球經濟增長放緩。

選擇風險或舒適

在不確定的環境中,投資者持有現金是明智的。當利率上升的時候,3個月Libor利率在2018年底升至2.81%。現金過去10年中第一次成為值得考慮的大類資產之一。原因在於投資者在現金類產品中承擔較少的風險而獲得一定的回報。

如果投資者有用較長的投資年期和風險承受能力及意願,股票能夠提供額外收益去彌補所承擔的股票風險。理論來講,股票是對沖通脹風險的一類重要資產。根據一些研究論文支持,股票相對債券長期能夠提供4%額外收益。

尋找更多分散配置的投資方式

在不確定的環境中提高現金倉位,投資者能夠在心理上獲得安穩。儘管市場之後可能未必存在顯著跌幅,投資者亦獲得心理安慰。但是,毫無疑問,現金在長期將會失去購買力。

如果歷史存在指引,一個分散的投資組合經歷跌浪之後,它們的價值將會更快的恢復。2009年熊市的時候,不少投資者都增加現金倉位。如果他們未能重新投資於股票市場,至2018年底,他們將會錯過股票市場超過350%的升幅。投資者持有傳統60%股票和40%債券的組合則只用3年就能夠恢復熊市的損失。

看面相可預知投資能力?

一篇南開大學教授的論文,去年底在中國網路引起一番轟動。論文叫《行長的面部寬高比影響銀行績效的路徑研究》,網友調侃面相學這種次文化已經進入學術殿堂,認為這種研究很無聊、沒有學術價值…..

鱷王教路時刻防險可致富

全球最大對沖基金橋水(Bridgewater)現時管理1600億美元資產,去年其旗艦基金Pure Alpha在扣除費用後回報率達14.2%,優於同業平均的6.7%虧損…..





相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。