Active Strategy and Passive Strategy

2018-12-20 05:03
Share
  • Share
featured

Warren Buffet once said that, “Never depend on single income. Make investment to create a second source.” Many investors, especially beginner, may arise questions about investing, as well as how to invest. In fact, the purpose of investing in funds is to benefit from its quality of being professionally managed, with built-in diversification and is highly liquid. Although most investors have their own preference on investment style, mutual funds can optimize the portfolio of both active and passive investors. Investors who participate in fund investments could be categorized as one of the two styles: active strategy and passive strategy. Although we cannot weight one strategy above another, one strategy may better fit an individual depending on his/her preference and risk tolerance. This article explains the active strategy and passive strategy in details, the difference between the strategies, and how an investor can determine which strategy would be a better fit for him/herself.

What is Active Strategy?

Active strategy is also known as active investing, it represents investors who constantly monitor the movement of their portfolio and optimize the profitability of the chosen investment products several times a day. Active investing often requires a large team of professionals who conduct research on a large quantity of financial securities, retain profitable securities while removing unattractive ones, and determine the optimal timing to buy and sell each portfolio or fund. Some active investors may also prefer to maximize short-term returns while others prefer long-term growth instead. However, some financial institutes offer hands-on service directly from portfolio managers to handle each investor’s portfolio individually. These portfolio managers would always help to select portfolios based on the risk and return of financial products or select portfolios that outperform particular index, such as the Russell 1000 and the Standard & Poor’s 500 Index; Figure 1 represents three actively managed funds that outperform the Standard & Poor’s 500 Index as an example. Portfolio managers would constitute a broader analysis for active strategy because the experts observe the opportunities and risks frequently and always make decision for the transaction.

Figure 1

What is Passive Strategy?

Passive strategy is also known as passive investing, it represents investors who desires to increase wealth gradually by replicating their portfolio to market indices and avoiding frequent trading. Unlike active investing, passive investing utilizes the “Buy and Hold” strategy, by profiting from long term asset appreciation instead of the fluctuation of short-term price or market timing. Therefore, management team is not required to conduct research, analysis, or actively make investment decision for passive investors. Moreover, passive investing is required to have comprehensive research by the investor him/herself, because passive investors have to create well-diversified portfolios in order to closely track the returns of a particular market index or benchmark, such as Standard & Poor’s 500 Index and the ETF tracker, as shown in Figure 2.

Figure 2

Differences between Active Strategy and Passive Strategy         

Active strategy and passive strategy are undoubtedly very different, both having their own advantages and disadvantages. For the active strategy, flexibility is the most important elements that active investors fancy. The reason is under an active strategy, portfolio managers pursue a frequent trading style, as long as they believe the return can be maximized or will outperform the index. Secondly, since active strategy is managed by portfolio managers, therefore they constantly research and analyse economic data, market conditions, investment atmosphere etc, with the aim to help investors maximize the return or minimize the loss for the underlying investment. For the passive strategy, it attracts investors who prefer low expenses because the transaction costs are comparatively less than that of active strategy due to less trading frequency. Furthermore, passive strategy also has higher transparency as compared to active strategy because the portfolio’s holdings are mainly that of the underlying index’s constituent assets.

The disadvantages of active strategy are higher risk and expenses. The higher risk mainly comes from the fact that portfolio managers are trying to “beat the market”. Therefore, portfolio managers will inherently invest in riskier asset with the hope of achieving a higher return. The higher expense is apparent due to the fact that active strategy engages in more frequent trading, thus, incurring more transaction costs. As for passive strategy, the main disadvantages are its lack of flexibility and minimal alpha return opportunity.

An investor should have a clear understanding of his/her investment objective, investment horizon, risk tolerance etc before deciding which investment strategy would be better suited.

Which approach is better for you as an investor?

Figure 3 below presents the result of active strategy vs passive strategy for the past 32 years, which they were reversed. And also, the cyclical trend illustrates that no champion between two strategies.

Source: Hartford funds
Figure 3

 

However, a common question is under which market condition would cause active or passive strategy to outperform the other? From 1987 until middle of 2018, there were a total of 23 market corrections (a price decline of at least 10% of any security), which resulted in 18 times outperformance by active strategy, with an average outperformance rate of 1.41% as shown in Figure 4, while passive strategy only outperformed 5 times, with an average outperformance rate of 0.88% during that period. That is a surprising fact that market correction is the factor that helps active strategy to outperform.


Source: Morningstar
*Active Large Blend is made up of funds from the Morningstar Large Blend category that are not index or enhanced index funds.
* S&P 500 Index Funds is represented by the Morningstar S&P 500 Tracking Category.
Figure 4

For an investor to choose the suitable investment strategy is as much of an art as it is a science. The investment objective, investment horizon, risk appetite etc, can be very different from one investor to the next. So, for an investor to decide which strategy is suitable for him/herself, he/she may wish to consider the “F.E.A.R.” factor. “F” stands for Flexibility, that is, how flexible the investor could be when it comes to his investments, such as investment objective, asset choices etc. “E” stands for Expense, that is, how cost-conscious the investor is when it comes to the expenses for that particular investment. “A” stands for Achievement, meaning what the investor would like to achieve from his/her investment. Finally, “R” stands for Risk, representing the level of risk that the investor is willing to take.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

主动策略与被动策略

2018-12-20 05:03
分享
  • 分享
featured

沃倫·巴菲特曾經說過:「不要單靠收入。 利用投資創造第二個收入來源。」許多投資者,特別是初學者,一定會對「如何投資」產生疑問。 投資基金的目的在於享受專業的管理、分散配置和高流動性的好處。雖然大多數投資者都有自己的投資風格,但共同基金可以優化主動和被動投資者的投資組合。 投資基金的人士可歸類為兩種風格:主動策略和被動策略。根據策略的偏好和風險承受能力,不同策略會適合不同的投資者,因此我們不能完全衡量好壞。 本文將詳細講述主動策略和被動策略之間的區別,以及投資者如何選擇適合自己的策略。

什麼是主動策略?

主動策略亦可稱為主動投資,表示投資者會積極留意其投資組合的變動,並盡可能多次優化所選投資產品的盈利能力。主動策略投資大多有一班專業團隊在背後管理,其團隊會對大量金融證券進行研究,保留有利可圖的證券,同時除去不具吸引力的證券,並決定在最佳時機買賣每個投資組合或基金。一些積極的投資者可能對短期回報較感興趣,而另一些則傾向於長期增長。然而一些金融機構為投資者提供實際服務,直接委派投資組合經理單獨處理每個投資者的投資組合。這些投資組合經理根據金融產品的風險和回報為投資者選擇投資組合,或選擇表現優勝於特定指數的投資組合,例如羅素1000和標準普爾500指數; 而圖一以三種主動管理型基金在2009年開始的表現優於標準普爾500指數作為例子。投資組合經理更會為主動策略進行更廣泛的分析,因他們需為交易作出決策。

图一

什么是被动策略?

被动策略亦可称为被动投资,投资者希望透过复制市场指数获取回报同时避免频繁交易。与主动投资策略不同,被动投资利用「买入并持有」的策略,以长期资产增值中获利,而不是靠补捉短期价格或市场波动的机会。因此管理团队不需要为被动投资者提供研究、分析以及投资决策的服务。此外,被动投资者需要自己进行全面研究,从而创建一个多元化并紧密贴近特定市场指数或基准的回报,例如在图二上的标准普尔500指数和 ETF,两者平均回报率都非常相似。

图二

主动策略与被动策略的区别

主动策略和被动策略都各有优点及缺点。从主动策略来看,对积极的投资者最为重要的因素便是灵活性,因为在主动策略情况下,投资组合经理会以频繁的交易方式换取最大回报或超越指数的表现。其次,由于主动策略由投资组合经理管理,不断的研究和分析经济数据能帮助投资者增加回报及减少损失。从被动策略来看,策略吸引了喜欢低费用的投资者,因为交易频率较少的关系,令交易成本比主动策略相对较低。再者,被动策略的透明度亦较高,因投资组合主要是跟踪指数的资产分布。
主动策略的缺点是风险和费用较高。风险较高的主要原因是投资组合经理试图「超越市场」。因此投资组合经理本身会投资于风险较高的资产以获取较高的回报。由于主动策略参与较频繁的交易,所以交易成本会较高。至于被动策略,主要缺点是缺乏灵活性和较少阿尔法回报的机会。
在选择适合的投资策略前,投资者应该清楚地了解自己的投资目标、投资期限、风险承受能力等。

作为投资者,哪种方法更适合您?

图三显示过去三十二年主动策略与被动策略的表现,而结果是两种策略的表现呈现周期性的波动,并没有绝对的赢家。

来源: Hartford funds
图三

那么在什么市场情况下会导致主动策略或被动策略超越对方?如图四所示,从1987年到2018年中期共有二十三次市场调整(跌幅超过10%)中,主动策略的表现优于十八次,平均表现超额回报为1.41%; 而被动策略仅表现优于五次,平均超额回报为0.88%。这显示出市场调整能帮助主动策略跑赢大市。


资料来源:晨星
* Active Large Blend由Morningstar Large Blend类别的资金组成,这些资金不是指数或增强型指数基金。
* 标准普尔500指数基金由晨星标准普尔500指数类别作为代表。
图四

对于投资者来说,选择合适的投资策略既是一门艺术,也是一门科学。每一个投资者都有不同的投资目标、投资期限及风险偏好。因此,投资者在选择适合自己的策略时,可先思考「F.E.A.R.」。 「F」代表灵活性,即投资者在投资方面的灵活性,例如投资目标、资产选择等。 「E」代表费用,即投资者可承担或支付的费用是多少。 「A」代表成就,意味着投资者希望从投资中获得什么。最后的「R」代表风险,即投资者愿意承担的风险水平是多少。

相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。