Understand the Risk Factors

2018-10-04 02:28
Share
  • Share
featured

7 Common Types of Risks –

Risk Assessment of Mutual Fund

Commonly used approaches to assess risks of mutual funds include the standard deviation, beta and Sharpe ratio.

1. Standard Deviation

Standard Deviation measures the variability of a population of performance data and shows how much variation or dispersion from the average. A low standard deviation indicates that the data points tend to be very close to the mean and as such lower risk; a high standard deviation on the other hand indicates higher variation and higher risk.

2. Beta (β)

The beta (β) of a stock or portfolio is a number describing the correlated volatility of an asset in relation to the volatility of the benchmark that the asset is being compared to. It measures the systemic risk that cannot be diversified away. A beta of 1 indicates that the security’s price will move with the market. Beta less (greater) than 1 means that the security will be less (more) volatile than the market. R-squared is often used along with the beta number. R-squared values range from 0 to 100. An R-squared of 100 means that all movements of a security are completely explained by movements in the index. A higher R-squared value (between 85 and 100) indicates a more useful beta figure.

3. Sharpe Ratio

Sharpe ratio measures risk-adjusted performance and is the return achieved per unit of risk taken. The Sharpe ratio tells us whether a portfolio’s returns are due to smart investment decisions or a result of excess risk. This measurement is very useful because although one portfolio or fund can reap higher returns than its peers, it is only a good investment if those higher returns do not come with too much additional risk. The greater a portfolio’s Sharpe ratio, the better its risk-adjusted performance has been.

4. Sortino Ratio

Sortino Ratio is similar to Sharpe ratio that measures the risk-adjusted return of an investment but penalizes only those returns falling below a user-specified target (downside risk). An intuitive way to view downside risk is the annualized standard deviation of returns below the target.

Most hedge funds aim for absolute returns and unlike traditional funds where there are benchmarks to compare to. Therefore, risk measures, such as the Sharpe ratio, that are applicable to traditional funds are not to hedge funds, but instead Sortino ratio should be used.

General Risk-Return Spectrum for Mutual Funds:

iFund investment product risk rating is a qualitative and quantitative assessment of a single fund’s geographic and asset class focus, investment style and potential risk factors. At the conclusion of the due diligence, each investment product is classified according to the preset asset classification and risk rating scores, ranking from 1 to 6 (1 is the lowest risk, 6 is the riskiest).

General Risk-Return Spectrum for Mutual Funds:

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

认识风险

2018-10-04 02:28
分享
  • 分享
featured

七种常见风险

评估风险方法

市场上常用来评估风险的方法,包括标准差(Standard Deviation)丶贝他系数(Beta)丶夏普比率(Sharpe Ratio)丶索提诺比率(Sortino ratio)等等。

1. 标准差

标准差可作为量度回报稳定性的指标。它量度样本内各数值与样本平均值的差异。标准差数值越大,则代表回报远离过去的平均数值,回报较为不稳定,故风险越高。相反,标准差数值越小,则代表回报较为稳定,风险亦较小。

2. 贝他系数(β)

「贝他」是用来量度不可分散的或市场的风险。贝他系数是将投资项目跟基准指数作比较,反映当基准指数变动时,投资回报的相应变动。贝他系数显示当基准指数变动一个百分点,回报的变化幅度。若贝他系数大於1,即表示投资的升跌幅度均大於基准指数。一般而言,投资跟基准指数的关连性越高,贝他系数越具意义。读取「贝他」数据时,往往同时参考R-Squared,其范围值是0 -100。 R-Squared100的基金代表其走势完全可被指数的变动来解释。较高的R-Squared值(85至100之间)表示Beta更准确。

3. 夏普比率(Sharpe Ratio)

夏普比率是一个反映风险及回报的比率,即是「经调整风险後的回报」。此比率计算要取得某一回报率所需承受的风险,当中以标准差作为基金的量化风险指标。比率越高,调整风险後的回报则越高。

4. 索提诺比率(Sortino ratio)

索提诺比率与夏普比率相似,主要分别在於前者并非以标准差,而是采用跌势差(期内的平均负回报)去计算。索提诺比率是用来分辨上升及下跌波幅。采用跌势差的索提诺比率只着眼於下跌波幅,并没有对价格升幅作出规限。

由於对冲基金的目标是追求绝对回报,所以并没有像传统基金一样可以与特定的市场指标或贝他系数比较基金表现。一般应用於传统基金的风险调整回报计算方法,如夏普比率,均不适用於对冲基金,反而应改用索提诺比率。

基金的风险与回报指标

iFund的投资产品风险评级为一个衡量单一基金的地域和资产类别丶投资风格和任何潜在因素的评估机制,质化和量化并重。在尽职审查的最後阶段,每个投资产品都会根据既定的资产类别和风险评级计分程式,进行分类。风险评级为1至6(1为最低风险评级,6为最高风险评级)。

一般基金的风险与回报指标:

相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。