Learn About Markets

2018-10-04 02:29
Share
  • Share
featured

Investment Strategy Using Macroeconomic

A prudent investor should attempt to understand the current economic situation as well as its impact on various asset classes. An economy will boom and bust as business activities expand and contract. An economic cycle typically takes 4 to 6 years to complete and composes of five phases.

Five Phases of an Economic Cycle

1.Early Expansion

The economy starts to witness growth while inflation remains low along with rising consumer and investor confidence.Bond prices stay flat or slightly decrease but commodities and stocks tend to perform well.

2.Peak

The economy is still growing but under severe inflation pressure fueled by a continued surge in consumer and investor confidence. Fiscal and monetary policies turn towards tightening with the hope of an economic soft landing. Bond prices fall and while the stock market remains on an uptrend, it is extremely volatile.

3.Contraction

Slowdown in economic growth but inflation remains high and consumer confidence begins to decline. Monetary policies stay on the tightening side to control inflation, causing a surge in short-term interest rates. The long-term interest rates, on the other hand, decline amid a coming economic downturn, causing an inverted yield curve. Long-term bond prices rise and stock prices fall from the peak.

4.Recession

The business activities contract usually during two consecutive quarters of decline in real GDP. Consumer and investor confidence is extremely weak. Government will pursue expansionary fiscal and monetary policies to boost the economy as inflation eased. Bond prices continue to rise, stock markets hit new lows, but often bottomed out before the economic recovery because traditional wisdom tells us that the stock market is a leading economic indicator.

5.Recovery

The worst is over and the economy regains momentum. Inflation stays low along with easing monetary policies, consumer confidence begin to rise. Stock market surges as economy appears stronger but bond prices start to fall.

Relationship Between Inflation and Interest Rates

Inflation refers to the general and persistent increase in price levels for the goods and services. Using economic indicators such as the Consumer Price Index (CPI) and the Producer Price Index (PPI), central banks will establish interest rate targets intended to keep the economy in balance. Basically, they will increase interest rates to cool inflation. As interest rates increase, consumers tend to have less money to borrow and spend. With less spending, economy slows and inflation decreases. The opposite holds true for lowering interest rates, where consumers borrow more. With more money to spend, economic growth and inflation will rise.

Global investors and traders keep a close eye on the central banks’ rate decisions, especially the decision by Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) in United States. The FOMC holds eight regularly scheduled meetings during the year and other meetings as needed. After the meetings, an announcement is made regarding the Fed’s decision to increase, decrease or maintain key interest rates. Certain markets may move in advance of the anticipated interest rate changes and in response to the actual announcements. For example, the U.S. dollar typically rallies in response to an interest rate hike.

How inflation and interest rates affect the stock and bond markets?

Numerous studies have looked at the impact of inflation on stock returns. Unfortunately, these studies have produced conflicting results when several factors are taken into account – namely geography and time period. Most studies conclude that expected inflation can either positively or negatively impact stocks, depending on the ability to hedge and the government’s monetary policy. But unexpected inflation did show more conclusive findings, most notably being a strong positive correlation to stock returns during economic contractions, demonstrating that the timing of the economic cycle is particularly important for investors to gauge the impact on stock returns. This correlation is also thought to stem from the fact that unexpected inflation contains new information about future prices. In addition, greater volatility of stock movements is often associated with higher inflation rates.

As for bond markets, there is an inverse relationship between Interest rates and bond prices. The question is: how does the prevailing market interest rate affect the value of a bond you own or a bond you want to buy? The answer lies in the concept of opportunity cost. Investors constantly compare the returns on their current investments to what they could get elsewhere in the market. As market interest rates change, a bond’s coupon rate – which is fixed – becomes more or less attractive to investors, who are therefore willing to pay more or less for the bond itself. Generally, if the central banks increase rates unexpectedly, both stock (in the short-term) and bond markets will suffer.

Example of Changes in Bond Price Due to Changes in Interest Rate:

Calculating bond price is simple: all we are doing is discounting the known future cash flows. The price of a bond is the sum of the present values of all expected coupon payments plus the present value of the par value at maturity.

Assuming a 10-year bond with a par value of $1,000, the coupon rate is 3% and paid semi-annually (that is the bond will be paid $15 semiannually). If the market interest rate is also at 3%, the bond price should equal to the par value – that is $1,000.

If market interest rates immediately increase to 4%, we will discount the coupons and par value at 4% and such the bond price will fall to $918. Conversely, if interest rate falls to 2%, the bond price will rise to $1,090.

Comparison between Developed, Developing, Emerging, and Frontier Markets

There are no hard rules on how to classify between emerging, developed, developing, and frontier market. Generally, three highly regarded organizations provide some common categorization. They are the International Monetary Funds (IMF), The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the World Bank.

Developed market is a country with a highly industrialized economy, typically with a large service sector. A developed country will tend to have a high GDP per capita income and built out infrastructure (transportation, communications) compared to a developing country.

Developing market has low levels of living and productivity, rapid population growth, underdeveloped industry and a reliance on agriculture and exports for economic sustainability. Surprisingly, China is often classified as developing market because, while it has the second highest GDP in the world, it also has the largest population, thus its GDP per capita is nowhere near the level in US.

Emerging market is a developing market that is moving towards becoming a developed market, typically with annual GDP growth in the high single digit or even doubles digits. These nations no longer rely primarily on agriculture; have impressive infrastructural and industrial growth with unprecedented development in energy, information technology and telecommunications.

Frontier market is a relatively small country with less established capital markets with political instability, poor liquidity, inadequate regulation, substandard financial reporting and large currency fluctuations. Thus, it has highest investment risks though it generally has a lower correlation to the rest of the world and can provide additional diversification.

Related Articles

Manage your asset round-the-clock

Hotline

852
3896 3896

1501, 15/F, 101 King's Road,
North Point, Hong Kong

Mon - Fri (excluding public holidays)
09:00 - 18:00

Copyright © 2019 Noble Apex Advisors Limited. All Rights Reserved.

认识市场

2018-10-04 02:29
分享
  • 分享
featured

宏观经济环境对投资的影响

妥善投资中的重要一步就是了解经济状况,以及认识不同经济环境对各项投资工具有何影响。经济盛极必衰,衰极必盛,一个典型的经济周期约维时4至6年,当中包括5个阶段。

5个经济阶段

1. 早期扩张

经济稳健增长,同时通胀率偏低,消费及投资信心上升。债券价格平稳或轻微下跌,商品丶股市显着造好。

>2. 到达顶峰

经济维持增长,但通胀压力日益增加,消费及投资信心处於高水平,政府财政及货币政策均偏向紧缩,以求令经济软着陆。债券价格下跌,股市仍反覆造好,却变得十分波动。

3. 放缓

经济增长放缓,通胀持续高企,消费信心开始下滑。货币政策维持紧缩以控制通胀,令短期利率上升,长期利率则因经济衰退的预期而下跌,造成孳息曲线逆转(Inverted Yield Curve)。长债价格上升,股市则见顶回落。

4. 衰退

连续两个季度或以上出现经济收缩,消费及投资信心甚为疲弱。通胀见顶,政府得以推行宽松的财政及货币政策以振兴经济。 债券价格继续上升,股市寻底,但往往早於经济走出谷底前便率先回升,此即所谓「股市走在经济之先」。

5. 复苏

最坏时候过去,经济重拾动力,通胀偏低,宽松政策持续,消费信心上升,各项因素均造就股市强劲回升。债券价格则见顶回落。

通胀与利率之间的关系

通胀是指商品与服务价格水平广泛及持续地上升。参考经济指标,如消费者物价指数(CPI)和生产者物价指数(PPI),中央银行将建立目标利率,以保持经济平衡。基本上,他们会提高利率以避免通胀加剧。由於利率上升,消费者往往减少借贷,消费因而降低,继而导致经济增长放缓及通胀率下降。降低利率的情形则相 反,消费者能借得更多,他们有更多的钱可花,因而刺激经济增长及通胀上升。

全球投资者与交易商密切关注央行的利率决策,尤其是美国联储局公开市场委员会(FOMC)所作出的决定。FOMC每年举行八次常规会议,有需要时可进行其他特别会议。会议结束後,联储局会发表议息声明,决定调升丶降低或维持利率不变。某些市场可能在议息前提早出现变动,以反映预期利率走势,例如,美元通常因为加息预期而上升。

通胀与利率如何影响股市及债市?

有许多研究分析了通胀对股市回报的影响。不幸的是,当考虑地域及时间等因素之後,这些研究的结果互相矛盾。大多数研究的结论是预期的通胀对股市能产生正面或负面影响,这取决於对冲能力及政府货币政策。但经济处於收缩期时,非预期的通胀与股市的相关性非常明确。这表明经济周期对投资者衡量股票收益率的影响特别重要。这种相关性也被认为源於非预期通胀包含对未来价格的新讯息。另外,通胀较高时,股票走势一般波动较大。

债券市场方面,利率与债券价格呈反比关系。问题是:现行市场利率如何影响您已经拥有,或您想购买的债券的价格?答案就在机会成本概念。投资者不断将他们目前获得的投资回报,与市场上其他地方可取得的回报比较。随着市场利率的变化,固定的债券票面利率对投资者变得更加或较不吸引,投资者因此愿意支付较高或较低的债券价格。一般情况下,如果中央银行出乎意料地提高利率,股票(在短期)与债券市场将会受压。

利率升跌影响债券价格的例子:

计算债券价格的方式是采用现金流「贴现」(discounting),债券价值是等於未来各期利息支付额的现值加上到期偿还本金的现值之和。

假设一张10年期债券面值为1000元,票面利率为3%及每半年付息一次(实际上该债券将会每半年支付一次15元利息)。如果市场利率亦是3%,债券价格应该是等於票面值 – 亦即是1000元。

如果市场利率即时升至4%,票息和面值金额就必须按4%贴现,债券价格就会下跌至918元。相反,倘若利率下跌到2%,债券价格就会上升至1090元。

成熟市场丶新兴市场丶发展中市场及前缘市场之间的比较

如何分辨成熟市场丶新兴市场丶发展中市场及前缘市场并没有硬性准则。一般来说,三个被高度重视的组织提供了一些常见分类,它们分别是国际货币基金(IMF)丶经济合作与发展组织(OECD)和世界银行。

成熟市场是指高度工业化的国家,它们通常具有庞大的服务业。发达国家往往有较高的人均国内生产总值,以及相比发展中国家拥有较良好的基础设施(交通与通讯)。

发展中市场的生活及生产力水准较低,人口增长迅速,产业不发达,并依赖农业和出口持续发展经济。令人惊讶的是,中国往往被归类为发展中市场,虽然中国国内生产总值在世界上位居第二,但同时它拥有全球最多的人口,因此其人均国内生产总值远远不及美国的水准。

新兴市场也属於发展中市场,但正朝向发展成为成熟市场,通常新兴市场每年的国内生产总值录得高个位数,甚至是双位数字增长。这些国家已经不再主要依赖农业,具有惊人的基建与工业增长,而且能源丶资讯科技及电信行业均处於前所未有的发展。

前缘市场是相对较小的国家,它们的资本市场不成熟丶政局不稳定丶流动性差丶监管不足丶财务报告质量参差丶以及汇率大幅波动。因此,它们具有最高投资风险,但与世界其他市场的相关性通常较低,可以提供额外的分散风险功能。

相关文章

随时随地配置全球资产

查询电话

852
3896 3896

香港北角英皇道101号15楼1501室

星期一至五(公众假期除外)09:00 - 18:00

版权所有 © 2019 御峰理财有限公司。保留所有权利。